On Location – Yasaka Shrine

April 2023

Rather than a big art day, this was more like an art morning, but as the Yasaka Shrine is smaller than both the Heian Shrine and Kiyomizudera I didn’t need as much time.

I covered most of this in In the Sketchbook – Week Four in Japan but wanted to go into it in a little more detail.

The entrance to the shrine is one of those recognisable landmarks in Kyoto that forms a central location to my memories of both trips. I’d often walk past it on my way between sightseeing or on my way to language school.

To start the morning I sat at the top of the steps and did a sketch looking at the architecture of the roof of the gate. It’s something I have drawn before in a way that hints and suggests but this was the first time I did more of a focused study on the interlocking beams and supports.

From there I wandered around the shrine a little, looking for the next thing I wanted to draw, while being mindful not to get in anyone’s way. I found a spot on one of the main paths that was wide enough I wouldn’t be in the way and sketched these two stone lanterns and the maple tree around them.

From there I headed toward the central part of the shrine and did a little study of all of the lanterns. I have drawn the lanterns before – back in November as one of the pieces I created for my teachers at language school.


Of these 13 images I made for my teachers, the Yasaka Shrine features twice – the temple roof with the cat, and the lanterns. Looking back at these pieces is making me want to do more dynamic pieces in black and gold!


After drawing the lanterns I paid more attention to some of the small shrines set up on one side of this courtyard.

As with the big art days I did before, I broke out the bigger watercolour sketchbook, found a place to sit out of the way and started work on this piece.

I didn’t finish it on location but managed to finish and expand on it back at the hostel that evening.

Looking back I realised I took the Yasaka Shrine a little bit for granted – because I visited it so often I never spent a lot of time taking photos. But here are a few from around the shrine that I took back in October!

Leave a comment